Blur Surprise Fans With New Album And Hyde Park Live Show Announcement

90s rock band Blur have managed to put a smile on a whole load of people’s faces this afternoon after announcing that they are releasing their first album in eleven years.


And the fun doesn’t even stop there, with Damon Albarn, Graham Coxon, Alex James, and Dave Rowntree also revealing that they will be headlining Hyde Park’s British Summertime in just a few months time.

We are so excited that we might actually need to have a little lay down.

According to the band, they first started working on their spanking new album, entitled ‘The Magic Whip’, whist they were touring around Asia last year, but the spoilsports very nearly kept it to themselves as there was some debate as to whether it would ever be released for public listening.

Thank goodness they made the right decision on that one, eh?

Damon said of the recording process: “We had some downtime, we had a cancellation when we were in Hong Kong, so we thought we’d put five or six days to good use.

“We just went in there and knocked about loads of ideas.

“Nothing happened after that. And I said, ‘I really don’t think anything’s going to happen.’”

Graham added: “It was casual and just something we did off our own backs and I thought it would be great to let it ferment and go back and have a look.”

Speaking of the album’s chinese-inspired artwork, Damon divulged: “It’s in simplified Chinese characters. On the left it says Blur and on the right it says ‘The Magic Whip’.”

Ah, why didn’t we think of that?

The album will be released on April 27, and they will be headlining at Hyde Park’s British Summertime gigs over the summer months.

The 46-year-old said of their upcoming live shows: “On this occasion we will have a whole new set of things to get excited about, so we’ll have even more music.

“I love playing in Hyde Park because I can cycle to work!”

Needless to say, we can’t bloomin’ wait to see them play – welcome back, Blur, it’s been a long time coming.

Just in case you’re too impatient to wait for the album to actually come out, The Magic Whip tracklist is as follows: 

Lonesome Street
New world Towers
Go Out
Ice Cream Man
Thought I Was A spaceman
I Broadcast
My Terracotta Heart
There Are Too Many Of Us
Ghost Ship
Ong Ong

[ Russell Brand Is Mocked With Hilarious Blur 'Parklife' Parody ]

[ Taylor Swift To Headline At Hyde Park's British Summertime ]

Michael Zhang

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *